To improve the user experience of our web-site, we use cookies. Through visiting our website, you accept that cookies will be saved on your computer, smartphone, tablet.
Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Webseiten besser an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen zu können. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseiten akzeptieren Sie die Speicherung von Cookies auf Ihrem Computer, Tablet oder Smartphone.
Thursday, 09 April 2020
Blue Red Green

tooth fairy coins

Chemistry: Giant hyperthermal effect in Mg-doped Fe3O4 - Friday, 09 February 2018 11:36
Biology: Nanodiamonds for antibacterial implants - Monday, 02 November 2015 21:41
Ecology: Nano-products risks overexaggerated - Tuesday, 24 June 2014 11:02

220px-David Wineland 2008David Jeffrey Wineland (born February 24, 1944) is an American Nobel Prize-winning physicist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) physics laboratory.

His work has included advances in optics, specifically laser cooling of ions in Paul traps and use of trapped ions to implement quantum computing operations. He was awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize for Physics, jointly with Serge Haroche, for “ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems”, a study about the light particles, the photons.

Wineland graduated from Encina High School in Sacramento, California in 1961. He received his bachelor's degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1965 and his PhD in 1970 working under Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr. at Harvard University. His doctoral dissertation is entitled "The Atomic Deuterium Maser". He then performed Postdoctoral Research in Hans Dehmelt's group at the University of Washington where he investigated ions trap and tested the "Electromagnetic-Dynamic" behavior of these subjects, before joining the National Bureau of Standards in 1975 where he started the ion storage group, now at NIST. He is also a faculty at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
Wineland is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Optical Society, and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1992. He jointly wins with French physicist Serge Haroche the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics “for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems.”